Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Okay the story of the weekend, a couple days late............
2002-04-24 - 3:52 a.m.

Okay, last week I almost fucking kirked out, I had projects out the ass due, tests, I carelessly missed an exam and I had to beg my professor to take it the next day. I had to figure out my housing next year and get my advising code for the next semester and that was a pain. All the while that's going on all I was thinking about was Raven and are new recent developments. Relationships is some hard shit to juggle, she set me off earlier in the week and I just couldn't shake it and all culminated in a big thing Thursday night, my mind was seriously fried. I got everything done, one way or another, but I was drained, by the end of Thursday night, expending all the emotional energy I had left to tell Raven I still love her.

I didn't expect anything to happen this weekend, eventhough ideas were tossed about for the big 4/20 weekend for awhile. There was Shindig, the big College event where a buncha shitty bands play in a field on a flatbed while kids get drunk and high amongst other things in this fucking field in the middle of nowhere. There was that, and eating Settler's own THC-brownies and dancing in a stupor. There was a breakdancing event in Philly called 2nd degree burn that Bat and I planned on going to for a long, long time. Then, about the beginning of the week, we heard that University of Virginia was holding GENESIS, a 2 on 2 bboy battle with a 3 grand prize, Remind and Stuntman from Style Elements, Mr. Wiggles, MC battle, and DJ Qbert headlining. For those that don't know hip-hop (it's okay, I'm a geek.) Style Elements is probably one of the best bboy (breakdancing) crews in the world, they are from California. Mr. Wiggles is one of the innovaters of Popping and is a member of the most infamous bboy crew in the world, ROCKSTEADY of NYC. He's popped in a Limp Biscuit video if that does anything for you.

All those things were up in the air, but we had no money, I just had a Maryland tax check of 43 bucks to cash and that's it. Bat was dead broke. The weekend looked like one big sleep/masturbation fest, and I wasn't happy about it, after the stressful week, but after I calmed down Thursday night, I didn't care, I was just happy to be alive and not criminally insane.

So, I slept and woke up around 11am, chilled with Bat like every Friday afternoon since we have no class. I waited to get to Lunch with him, and I played Dreamcast, thinking that was the equivalent of the highpoint of the weekend.

ENTER PETER, MARLEY AND NIBBER.

Now these dudes are Bat's boys from back home in Silver Spring. Apparently, Peter said he was gonna skip high school Friday and come drive 2 hours to see Bat. Bat thought he was kidding. He wasn't. Nibber and him both skipped high school (those crazy kids with Senioritis) and booked it 2 hours west to Frostburg. Peter wanted to go to this event, Genesis. He battles in a crew called Phushun Force Ill, ill crew, his little brother, Toyz, is straight sickest lil bboy you've ever seen.

Anyways, he shows up with Nibber and Marley, we eat lunch and discuss celebrating 4/20 in style.

My eyes lit up, and soon enough it was about 3 o'clock and me, Nibber, Bat, lil Phil, Marley, and Peter are driving to Silver Spring. Bat and I couldn't believe it and soon enough we were in Silver Spring, with no money and just the clothes on our backs.

When we got there, we all decided to go to Georgetown for the evening and chill. Nibber drives a big ass van so it accomidated all of us quite easily. We freestyled, had alot of crazy fun. We would all give rounds of applause to all the fine girls we saw in cars and on the sidewalks, we just didn't care. We got some weird reactions because just imagine your fine self walking down the street and having about 6 delinquints clapping there hands staring at your cleavage or booty. Needless to say our hands hurt from clapping so much since it was Georgetown on a Friday night. Fine women abounds. We had so much fun. Peter taught us how to live the "Shiesty" state of mind. Now when we talk about "Shiesty" we mean living fearlessly for survival. To enlighten you more on Peter, he's a crazy Korean, really smart. Comes from a rich family, but is the biggest clepto in the world. He stole over 200 bucks of stuff for us that night. Phil got 2 sets of Prismacolor watercolor markers. We roughed 4 11 dollar magnets from a comic book store (yes, they were retailed 11 bucks FOR MAGNETS.) Peter got me this cool little strip tease book. We were all smoking bidis and a big 30 dollar cigar walking up and down the streets. We looked like hoodlums I bet. Bidis are really good, I smoked alot that weekend. I smoked that cigar, bidis, and a pack of Parliament lights. Anyways, we had a ball. Bat, Marley, Phil and Peter even danced with a street performer who was drumming buckets in the park, it was hot, a whole crowd just started to gather, we just heard the drums and we all started running and Bat just started to dance spontaneously, just so random and exciting, people were taking pictures and everything. That was exceptionally fun to see.

After we left Georgetown, people wanted to go to sleep for the big event tommorrow and Bat, Phil and I had to find a place to stay. We had a hard time, but eventually surprised our friend Wing and he let us crash at his place with his girl. awesome, but the night was young, Wing lives in College Park, so Bat, Phil and I went walking around the campus and whatnot. At random chance, we met up with one of Bat's high school friends and we went to his dorm, chilled, listened to hip-hop and drew things in our sketchbooks till about 4am. It was weird, just imagine four kids in a dorm room, with 40 prismacolors, tagging up their books.

It was a great night, we were all euphoric, hours ago we thought shit was going down and now we're far from home and on an adventure.

We talked about the whole randomness of the thing. Someone drove by and shouted to Bat, "There's a black guy with his big, black cock!" while we walked back to Wing's. It was 5am when we got back and the door was locked, and we all just sat on the porch because we didn't want to wake the whole house up that late, so we just sat there and just talked about the evening like it happened 20 years ago and we were all sucking on Werther's originals.

Anyways, we all slept in my truck eventually, parked behind Wing's. It wasn't a first for me, but it was a first for Phil and Bat. It was interesting, a good 2 or 3 hours of rest maybe.

We met up with Peter in the afternoon, I got my check cashed, Wing and his girl, Mian tagged along with us. Everybody wanted to ride in the back of my truck, it was a common thing over the weekend. Mian was extra cool, she bought us food and stuff, gave us Tamarind candy, so tasty. We picked up this dude Carlos (I think) afterwards and we went to Nibber's. There, all of us, Peter, Bat, Wing, Mian, Phil, Carlos, Me, and Nibber himself got treated to some wonderful hospitality by Nibber's family. His dad was so cool, he broke out sodas when we got in the basement, we smelled curry as we walked in. Nibber's mom made us all curry beans and rice with mango. It was to die for!!!! I haven't eaten that good in weeks and weeks, it was so damn tasty, curry beans mmmmmmmmmmmm! Rice!!!!!!!!!! double mmmmmmm! Flatbread!!! Mango! (And I'm not talking about them shitty Mexico mangos either.....just the sweet, sweet ones!) I almost spontaneously combusted in delight. What kindness, I thought. It felt so good to eat so well. The night before I had lettuce and a half a pack of crackers to eat, and that day, I was eating like a king. I ate like an african bushman that just killed in elephant, I heard they got elastic stomachs, I just got a big tummy though. God, I want that food again, makes my mouth water thinking about it!

So, after eating like no tommorrow, Peter and I picked up some Schwag and KB, made about 3 blunts to start the festivities off right. We smoked up in some part at 4:20 on 4/20, (so juvenile....) but yeah, it was me, bat, Peter and Phil, getting retarded in this park. It was a hot spot too, we blazed in the middle of a police picnic or some shit like that, at least that's what Nibber told us, who was are "lookout." It was funny to us, I was so high. At one point, on the ride to Genesis in VA, I thought I saw a ball rolling beside the van and was bouncing all around and I was following it with my eyes, it would ride the guardrail, then bounce towards us and roll back along the horizon and come in the car, bounce off of Wing's head and back....crazy shit. It was a 2 and a half hour drive or so and I finally got my mind back when we got there. Peter smoked again with Phil and these other cats that followed us to the show from another crew. I don't know, but Peter somehow battled Style Elements high.

Anyways, yeah, everybody was there, Bboy wise, Lions of Zion were there, 703 people, Bat and Peter, Goofball and some other kids. It was good, the freestyle battle was good, some Korean kid won, named No Comment, he was a hometown favorite. Kmel and this little 11 year old, El Nino won the 3 grand in the Bboy battle, beating out LOZ (Lions of Zion) who beat Style Elements for second. I met this DJ crew called thetrooperz and the guys were really nice and were good turntablists. However the highlight of the evening was when I met Qbert, my turntable idol and got his autograph on a dollar bill. He's so quiet, and short......but crazy sick on the one's and two's! I thought his performance was gonna be weak for some reason because I heard he gives only 15 minute sets or something, but damn, it wasn't and he tore it up. He was scratching with both hands, no fader, upfader, everything, just sick, his scratch patterns are just out of this world. Damn, if I one percent of what he got, I'd be crazy nice! I met his assistant, Ken-do, he's extra cool, he's another filipino but he's got almost the same hairstyle as the asian prince but without the mullet, just the poofiness.

It was a great night. Bat and I talked to Wiggles after the show and he was a real nice guy, he said Bat had nice footwork and that's coming from a Rocksteady bboy. He told us all about Rocksteady and stuff, he's just a great guy.

Anywho, we tried to get into this crazy frat party across the street afterwards but got kicked out. This frat house must of had 50 rooms easy, it was just a huge house on this big ass hill, something out of the movies, it was monsterous, oh if me and Peter got in there, we would of stole mad shit. Anyways, we ditched that and hit up the afterparty at genesis in some nice club. We all barged in for free without paying five bucks which was cool. Bat took about 12 red bulls from this stand in the club. We danced and had fun, I think I saw people actually having sex on the dance floor. We bounced out at 3 ish, Peter, Bat and I smoked the KB in a parking garage with these two girls that sweared they came from Italy, but didn't look or sound anything like it. Anyways, got retarded, passed out the whole way home and then slept at Wing's till 11 to get back in Frostburg around 2. Which leads to now.

It was great weekend. It was one of the best I've had in awhile. I want to go to Georgetown again, there's some really nice stores. I found a place that actually sell Royal Elastics! god, I want a pair of these shoes. Anyways, I bought this book called "Back in the Day" with a buncha photos of old school clothing styles. I bought Raven a little magazine. There's this cute lil store run by this pretty Japanese woman that sells vintage clothes and Izod/lacoste "gator" shirts. It sort of reminds me of 9th life in Fells Point, Bmore.

Anyways, that's what happened this weekend, the short of it. I hope you enjoyed it cause I did.

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!