Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Sleep Study Results
2002-11-28 - 10:24 a.m.

Okay, it's been a full day AFTER my sleep study, but it was quite eventful, and yesterday I was quite lazy. Well, I got out of my Tuesday class to be greeted by some traffic, but I made to the sleep study place on time. I picked "Mission Impossible" to watch this time, the same nurse was there to hook me up to Alice 4. In addition to Alice, they had a bi-PAP machine and an oxygen concentrator in the room ready. She said the doctor (Who didn't call me or say anything last week about what he wanted to recommend to me, so impersonal.) wanted to put me on a bi-PAP rather then a regular CPAP machine and really thought that I would need an oxygen concentrator. I knew I was bad, but I didn't realize I would need an oxygen machine.

The bi-PAP machine is like a CPAP machine times two, and is really expensive, anywhere from 1000 to 4000 dollars, depending on the model, not including the additional headgear and stuff I would need and tubes. It's really weird at first when I was hooked into it. I had tubes up my nose and whenever I would breathe in, the machine would shoot air right up my nostrils hard. When I exhaled through my nose, I had to push hard. It was sorta noisy, more droning, it's something I could used to, hell I can sleep in a tornado. It makes it really hard to breathe through the mouth too, and when I got up, my mouth was hella dry.

Anyways, I got about to the part in "Mission Impossible" where Tom Cruise meets up with Jon Voight in England and I was out like belly-buttons. I don't remember much after that. The nurse didn't hook me up to the loud oxygen machine at first because they wanted to see how well I worked with the bi-PAP alone, and I'm glad she did, because when I got up she said she didn't need to hook me into it, 'cause I was doing so well with the bi-PAP. That was good news. God knows how much a damn oxygen concentration machine costs. I feel freakish enough with the sleep "bondage" headwear, let alone two big ass loud machines. Mother fuckers might start thinking my ass was on life support or something walking into my bedroom, or some demented product of a mad scientist's experiment.

Now about the sleep. It was glorious. Sweet sleep. I didn't get up once during the night, NOT ONCE. I slept from about 11 to 6:30am. That's almost 8 hours straight, it's been like 6 years or so the last time I did something like that, no joke. The nurse said "You didn't even move OR SNORE." God damn, Raven always said I was a finicky sleeper, always kickin' her and rolling around, no wonder she wrapped herself so tightly in the blankets and covers. AND EVERYONE, all my friends, next door neighbors, people in neighboring towns know about my snoring, I'm surprised Raven could sleep with me at all or anyone else for that matter that rests next to me in a 100 ft. radius.

But I wasn't snoring, I felt disoriented. I thought it was like 3am and I had to pee or something, my muscles and mind were tired. I was slightly disoriented, I got some good REM sleep she said. "I got about 6 years of sleep debt to pay off" I told her. I almost cried right then and there. It felt good. I was all like Eddie Murphy and his Ice cream/welfare bit voice, I was all:

"I slept fo' more six hours-I slept all ni-aight-you no hear no snoring-I got well-rested."

It was fucking glorious. I had to sleep last night without the benefit of bi-PAP and man I got up today with this big fucking headache, got up about 4 times, my eyeballs hurt, I routinely passed out on the toilet (my brother woke me up, not suprised or startled at all, he's used to it.) I didn't get any good sleep.

Now imagine, I did that shit for a good six years. I seriously fucked my shit up. I got alot of "What ifs" in my head right about now, and it hurts alot. The fucking doctor better get back to me pronto and get a bi-PAP in my damn house ASAP. Most likely the insurance will cover this stuff, or somehow this money will have to come from a magical tree somewhere. I'm still a dependent, thank god. The insurance most likely will cover it, I'm sure. I was reading how Sleep deprived people were 2 to 3 times more likely to get into traffic accidents. Now, I don't have enough eyebrow hairs to count how many times I've passed out/blacked out/nodded off at the wheel, right about now I feel INSANELY, and I mean INSANELY lucky to be alive and considerablely healthy. I'm also hella thankful I didn't hurt anyone else, family, friends, people in other automobiles, dogs, cats, etc. Also, long term Apnea can cause heart problems, I hope I didn't fuck up my heart too much.

Well, I wish a happy Thanksgiving to all, 'cause I got alot to be thankful for this year. Soon, finally I'll actually have "good nights."

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!