Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Time to meet the sister I never had.
2003-03-04 - 7:19 a.m.

"Hi Scott,

With Laurie's upcoming wedding, it seemed like a good idea to get in touch with you. At leat some of the family would probable be distracted by you and I if that were our first meeting and that wouldn't be fair to Laurie and Mike.

I'm going to be in the DC-area for a few days of my spring break (the week of March 10) If you're in town, I'd like to meet up for lunch or coffee -- whatever's convenient. If you want to bring your wife and sons, I'm open to that as well. (It's obviously your call.)

For what it's worth, I truly don't see this as being a big deal at all.

Hope this finds you well,

Becky."

This email is from my half-sister to my father, whom is her biological dad. This is a shock to me. I've never met her before, never seen her or pictures of her, and apparently my father hasn't either. So they don't want to cause a big "scene" at my cousin's wedding.

I remember coming back from Taekwondo class one day when I was about 13 or 14 and my father dropping the news to us in his usual nonchalant way about how he was married before and that we have a sister. I don't remember why my dad decided to divulge the information to us that particular time, but it was just out of the blue, and totally as shocking this time around. My father, did the same nonchalant shit right after last night's dinner and said she'd be in town and went right into the living room and started watching TV like it ain't no thang.

God knows what goes on in my father's head. I don't know how I really should take all this, but who does when it comes to these sorts of things? At least I know her name now. She keeps the family last name, I don't know whether if she was raised by my dad's ex alone, whom I know nothing about either or if she has another dad.

Man, I'm just mad at how my dad could be see so cold and callous on the exterior when he's seen so much, done so much, and left so much history behind, a daughter behind, a whole life behind him. When he told us of the news, I just had this "What the fuck?!?!" expression on my face when his back was turned but I didn't have the nerve to yell at him or even pose the question "Why?" Why all this? Why the stoicism? Why now? Why then? Why did you? Why didn't you? Why are you the way you are?

Well, I might try calling her today. (she left her phone #) I don't know how to start out, maybe saying "Hi sis!" would be innappropriate. Well, all I got is a name, a number, and this burning curiousity. Family's family, and now I have a sister, and her name is Rebecca.

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!