Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Slaughterhouse!
2003-04-06 - 9:43 a.m.

Going through the motions. I'll try to make sense of all I want to talk about.

First off, you like the new layout? Thanks to Cindie-Loo she did a bang up job with a capital AWESOME. This place is so damn sexy now I must say.

Alright, onto the business. I was wondering today about various things while deliverying pizzas and buffalo wings. I wondered why I was vegetarian. I refer back to the recent episode of "Penn & Teller's BULLSHIT" about diet drugs and genetic food scares. It some fun facts about starvation and myths of "Frankenfood." They had people from Greenpeace looking like morons.....but for good reason. Then they had these RAW food people, one in particular with THE WORST HAIRCUT I HAVE EVER SEEN. Anyways, basically these people looked like morons, the Greenpeace people sprouting out false facts and just complaining about frankenfood to complain about other issues. ANYWAYS, back to me. These people made choices on their diet, but Penn and Teller brought up a good point, "If you and yours are not starving, then SHUT THE FUCK UP."

So I got to questioning myself. I'm not really imposing with my choice to start with. It's not like I'm scaring developing countries not to get genetically altered and rigorously tested corn. Corn that could very well feed their people. I'm not that ignorant. I'm not wasting food especially, the butcher will always be busy without me regardless. Then what is it then? I wondered. Well, my girlfriend at the time was a big influence. Sort of the "Jules-Pulp Fiction Syndrome" I was at college at the time and was tired of eating burgers and chicken strips everyday so it was a pleasent change, salad, veggies, but still it was cafeteria food.

Anyways, I always had a certain abhorration for cooked animals that still looked like they were alive. The filipino roasted pig at the birthday parties. The nasty looking fish dishes. The meat I stuck to was heavily processed and breaded to cover any sign of previous life. I guess I've always had a compassion for creatures. I really started to think how are meats were brought to the table. I remember vivid memories of Georgia, sitting outside, our house was near a highway and every couple days or so you'd smell chicken shit for hours because big 18 wheelers would pass by with chickens in coups, ready for slaughter in a local Con Agra plant.

I didn't think much of it at the time, maybe saying to myself, "Those poor chickens."

And poor chickens they were. Killed so mechanically. No pride or dignity in their deaths. Nobody is hunting down those chickens in the thrill of the hunt. The chicken has no chance hanging upside down on a conveyer, awaiting for their throats to get cut. I feel a sense of disrespect to life in general to treat other living things like this.

I guess it's more "Humane" then throwing rocks at them or some shit, but what the hell is really a "Humane death?" Do they want to do die? Do they even know the difference between eating food or their own shit? I guess you can't ask them but what do you think? I think if we can treat lower life so coldly, then how does that effect us in treating lower people? To me, it brings me a certain humbleness to abstain from eating meat. I am very lucky to live in a place with abundant food that gives me choice to do so. I think in some way, my respect towards these animals will help my compassion towards their lives and radiate to all life in general. Now I'm not gonna go bomb a Perdue chicken factory and I'm definitely not gonna put t-shirts and sunglasses on dogs. I'm sticking to my guns though, it's been well over a year and still going. I'm not totally vegan, but vegetarian and comfortable with my choice.........for now.

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!