Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Elvis Costello vs. Big Book of Racism
2003-04-28 - 8:15 a.m.

What feels like a 10 lbs rock is ruminating in my stomach. It feels like I got punched in the gut hard when I got up this morning. I don't even feel like eating.

Work yesterday was interesting. I had to pick up a manager's girlfriend in Elkton 'cause her car broke down. I missed about 6-10 deliveries give or take. It was all good though, I got comphensated, talked a bit with John Logan, and listened to an Elvis Costello CD my brother bought.

I recieved Elvis Costello records in the mail from my Cali friend, Joe. Elvis Costello has been hitting me in all directions. He's quoted in a passage of the infamous EGO TRIP'S BIG BOOK OF RACISM! in the TOP ROCK 'N' ROLL WHITE BOYS (AND GIRLS)...AND THEIR GREATEST RACIST MOMENTS.

-Elvis Costello

"In March 1979 at a Columbus, Ohio, Holiday Inn, a belligerent Costello engages in an argument with members of Stephen Stills' touring entourage when he starts talking shit about America. When told by Stills' backup singer Bonnie Bramlett that his music owes a debt to American R&B, Costello responds by calling Ray Charles "a blind, ignorant nigger" and James Brown "another dumb nigger." A fight ensues in which Costello catches a bad one courtesy of Bramlett."

So, when I'm listening to "Party Girl" or "Veronica" all I can think of is "DUMB NIGGER." It's tragic, but certainly James Brown ain't a saint, but the Ray Charles thing.....just out of bounds, at least crack on his ass for hockin' Diet Pepsi or something.

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!