Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Open your own eyes only after you open your heart......
2003-10-30 - 9:39 a.m.

the prodigal dun (12:51:18 AM): like kahlil said, "I have learnt silence from the talkative, toleration from the intolerant, and kindness from the unkind; yet strange, I am ungrateful to these teachers."

Huggybear747 (12:51:19 AM): yeah, the joys and splendor of organization only comes when you organize yourself

Huggybear747 (12:52:29 AM): I see alot of people fighting with passion, fighting with anger, but to fight with a clear conscious......is to fight with a force unrivaled

the prodigal dun (12:52:58 AM): but sometimes the best fight is the one with yourself about when to clear your conscious

Huggybear747 (12:53:15 AM): Everyday

Huggybear747 (12:53:19 AM): You make a choice

Huggybear747 (12:53:41 AM): In confronting your fears and challenging your own reason

the prodigal dun (12:54:26 AM): just you saying that made me realize I have so much to confront and challenge

the prodigal dun (12:54:32 AM): I never thought of it before

Huggybear747 (12:55:06 AM): it's not a decision, it's a choice, a daily affirmation between breaths or where you go next and learn the how's and the why's in the world

the prodigal dun (12:56:10 AM): damn

Huggybear747 (12:56:15 AM): I see alot of people tasting pain, shunning violence, putting faces to evils

Huggybear747 (12:56:26 AM): When it all has one face

Huggybear747 (12:56:47 AM): it's not the evil empire, it's not some shroud of terror, it isn't the media

Huggybear747 (12:57:59 AM): it's you, it's me, it's all one face, and before people go quickly and judge and decipher where that evil is coming from, they should take a moment to realize what's in themselves first and foremost

the prodigal dun (12:59:04 AM): I hear that, but do you think evil comes from inside each of us, or each of us hs to decide waht we think of as evil?

the prodigal dun (12:59:06 AM): or both

Huggybear747 (1:00:45 AM): There's reasons behind terror and there's faces behind oppression, human faces, like our own with different circumstances and reasons that we must address before we go touting a righteousness of ourselves

Huggybear747 (1:01:19 AM): Evil comes from us, it's not some external force, but many would like to think that.

Huggybear747 (1:02:34 AM): What we think and percieve as evil is as moldable as the limits of human minds

the prodigal dun (1:03:03 AM): man, I needed this tonight, it has been a few days I could do without, this just makes me feel better

Huggybear747 (1:03:38 AM): I needed it too

Huggybear747 (1:04:06 AM): Shit, now give it to all the others that need it

the prodigal dun (1:04:20 AM): I hear that

Huggybear747 (1:04:50 AM): I'm tired of seeing whiny, ratty white kids protesting about shit they have little or no grasp on

the prodigal dun (1:05:17 AM): don't just say whiny, ratty whie kids, it pisses me off when ANYONE does it

Huggybear747 (1:05:20 AM): Seeing them fueled by a self shame to fight for causes they hear from their favorite rock band

the prodigal dun (1:05:31 AM): jamaican, black, white, red, green, whatever

Huggybear747 (1:05:47 AM): You know, Nick and I went to this global justice film series

Huggybear747 (1:05:59 AM): and it was all white kids, punkish white kids

Huggybear747 (1:06:16 AM): watched a film on the World Banc protest in DC

Huggybear747 (1:06:33 AM): Not one in the room mentioned anything about race

Huggybear747 (1:07:02 AM): it was statistics, it was how they were harassed, like they want to be treated secondary in some sort of guilt

Huggybear747 (1:07:27 AM): It pissed me off, because the most important thing I think the film touched on is the lack of minority voices

Huggybear747 (1:08:00 AM): It was painfully ironic to see ANARCHISTS all dressed in BLACK, covering up white faces

Huggybear747 (1:09:15 AM): There was no face to this struggle they have, just numbers, a bruise from a cop roughing them up and making feel bad, they don't know nothing about filipino sweat shop workers except for how much they make a day

Huggybear747 (1:09:37 AM): they know tons about the corporations exploiting 3rd world labor but nothing of the people exploited

the prodigal dun (1:10:20 AM): I kinda got disenfranchised with the punk "movement", I liked some of the music, but so much of it was like hey I just read howard zinn's history of the world 1492 to the present and I came up wit hthis song

Huggybear747 (1:10:36 AM): They didn't want to know who these people were, they were too ashamed of themselves and their "America" to realize the cultural frameworks of all this oppression

the prodigal dun (1:11:12 AM): no real thought into the songs other than so and so did this, and it is wrong, and lets try to use 3 chords to make it sound rough and tough so people will want to go out and change something we have no clue what we are talking about

Huggybear747 (1:11:21 AM): People are obessed with how not to live and not about how they actually do live

Huggybear747 (1:11:45 AM): You know, the organizers for the film series were informative

Huggybear747 (1:11:57 AM): they were helpful, I found alot of their stuff interesting

the prodigal dun (1:12:23 AM): you find that, people who have a reason for informing are VERY INFORMATIVE, but the rest of hte people go along wanting to think they are informing when they need to be informed themselves

Huggybear747 (1:12:57 AM): but shit, it's lacking human expression, it's just them reiterating shit to themselves and not about WHY? or HOW? And if they do, they get into a mental standstill

Huggybear747 (1:13:35 AM): They can't explain what they're really fighting for.

Huggybear747 (1:13:47 AM): They're not even sure about themselves

the prodigal dun (1:13:47 AM): I know I get into mental standstills alot, that is where my WANTING to be informed comes in handy

Huggybear747 (1:14:19 AM): and I think these kids did take initiative

the prodigal dun (1:14:33 AM): I WANT to know what people are fighting for and the reason, but I have no deisre to know that in grrek mythology something happened and now we can relate it to this

Huggybear747 (1:14:44 AM): But of course, they leave out racial and cultural contexts

the prodigal dun (1:14:51 AM): becasue relate it so something people can really care about, not achilles

Huggybear747 (1:15:03 AM): other then their own and the horrible things the people of their skin are doing

the prodigal dun (1:15:12 AM): I mean I know why achilles died and how, and it is interesting, but it is not going to changepeople's minds

the prodigal dun (1:16:13 AM): and facts are g reat, but put soemthing to the facts that makes people want to change

Huggybear747 (1:16:25 AM): It just became very apparent to me that these white kids are nowhere near confronting issues of race or culture especially on a global standpoint

the prodigal dun (1:16:49 AM): I hate when people say like 43% of the population doesn't believe X is wrong, that means that 57% are! I hate when things are used in a negative context that could just as easily be flipped to a positive

Huggybear747 (1:16:56 AM): they just accept that ALL people should be treated equally and that it "really sucks" when they aren't

Huggybear747 (1:17:42 AM): I'm biracial, and I never felt more filipino in my life until I witnessed this

the prodigal dun (1:17:44 AM): no, all people shouldn't be treated equal, some people have more ability than others...the people of ability should have a bit more freedom to o things so the people of less ability can enjoy those things

Huggybear747 (1:18:43 AM): All people aren't treated equally because all people don't have the opportunity

the prodigal dun (1:18:53 AM): I know i have less ability than bill gates in computer programming, and I want him to be able to make programs that can help me, not be forced to deaden his mind so that I can feel better about myself

Huggybear747 (1:19:26 AM): Well, it's not saying that you're unequal to someone persay, maybe the respects in certain fields

Huggybear747 (1:19:55 AM): but to have an understanding of where he's coming from will shape how you understand yourself

the prodigal dun (1:20:06 AM): no, I am unequal to certain people, I know this and accept it

the prodigal dun (1:20:28 AM): even if it is in a field I have no desire to be in, I know I am not equal and accept that fact

Huggybear747 (1:20:31 AM): and realize, we all have important parts in the cogs of globalization

the prodigal dun (1:21:29 AM): YES, which means i don't fuck with you so I can feel better about myself, becaue I damn sure don't ant someone screwing around and wasting my time to make themselves feel better because they can do something I am good at

Huggybear747 (1:23:01 AM): Well, when you can see through separate distinctions of race and culture, you can reach a true consensus of thought in which to make democratic decisions with yourself

the prodigal dun (1:23:13 AM): if I can help you do something in a better way, why would yo uwant to stop me?

the prodigal dun (1:23:30 AM): I don't want to stop you from doing anything, unless it has an adverse affect on me, or those I love

Huggybear747 (1:23:30 AM): See through, not avoid, not push aside, see through, all levels

Huggybear747 (1:25:22 AM): Do you think these ratty white kids see through all these levels? Or do you think they just accept a norm and look through a norm and think in a context of a norm?

Huggybear747 (1:25:51 AM): Making a decision is one thing, making one that is clear and fair is another

the prodigal dun (1:26:07 AM): I think they acept what they are told, and that is what they want to fight for, not heir own causes but causes someone else tells them is right to fight for

Huggybear747 (1:26:36 AM): Because they ACCEPT

the prodigal dun (1:26:56 AM): yes, but I believe true acceptance only comes from TRUE understanding

Huggybear747 (1:27:00 AM): Accept without realizing their own method of thought

Huggybear747 (1:27:13 AM): It's an uphill battle

the prodigal dun (1:27:16 AM): understanding why things are wrong, and why things others think rae wrong may just be right

Huggybear747 (1:28:33 AM): to realize your media is shifted in a way, and things like how you were raised or the country you live in, the religions you practice, the skin you have, the skin you don't have, what has been given to you without questioning

Huggybear747 (1:29:15 AM): White people don't know race because it's been built like this, carefully crafted

the prodigal dun (1:29:37 AM): I know I really don't understand it, but I don't let it stop me from knowing people

Huggybear747 (1:29:53 AM): from how you work with "others" to global politics

Huggybear747 (1:30:01 AM): it's a naturally assumed norm

Huggybear747 (1:31:12 AM): closing the book and pointing the finger are essentially the same things

the prodigal dun (1:31:25 AM): I hear that

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!