Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

I'm a winner!
2004-04-11 - 4:41 p.m.

Alright, THE BH-Muthafunkin'-P actually won some shit last night at this event, which I talked about a few entries before, The Creative Alliance College-Bake Off. My film, which as Nick affectionately said, "...was made out of pain...and good art comes from pain." won both the JURY vote and the CROWD vote......sweeping the shit all together and getting a shitload of prizes consisting of movie passes, show passes, gift certificates, free drinks at some upscale, trendy coffee "barista" or what have you, and of course, the ever-satisfying trophies.

Now, I'm glad the BH-We-steal-yo-momma-in-da-mouf-P got some muthafunkin' bonafide recognition for once........we've worked damn hard and still do, pounding out better quality shit each and every time, only to get turned away, not taken seriously, or just brushed off simply by the packs of back patters that pepper throughout any "art" scene that grow into everything they've said they hated time and time again.

BUT.........

The turnout for the show wasn't too great, in fact, it was kinda depressing to me, and as always, the big olde holy hand of irony guided me along my path. Nick and I (well, mainly Nick) invited folks upon folks to this event.......and holy jesus, they actually came! but it appeared to be that they and maybe about 20 others came along with them. Don't get me wrong here, I'm immensely grateful that our friends came to see us, just not even a year ago, we invited about the same number of people to another CAmm event screening and got about 1 or 2 people show up. It feels good that within this short period of time that we gathered up friends and respect, and thinking about it more, it is the real true prize we recieved.

BUT.....

Last year's Bake off was knee deep in people, the turnout was enormous compared to this year's. It cannot be simply explained why the turnout was so low, the hand of holy irony does not leave many clues to its actions. The advertising was good, with the exception of the Patterson marquee not changing their sign for over a week and leaving late March events up there instead of UPCOMING EVENTS, which I would imagine help promote shows.

Easter Weekend maybe? All those young college kid art types we're sleeping the night off to recouperate from their drunken Good Friday "Jesus is dead, that's what I said!" celebrations? Or we're they all getting up early for that Easter Mass followed by Chocolate n' Peeps fat kid blowout?

JHU Film Festival? Well, click the link, see what we were up against here........ummmm.......

-A buncha bullshit Experimental and comedy shorts, none of which from the Baltimore area.

-The Sike Trike crew????

Seen pictured here with me and Nick at the 2003 Microcinefest That mutha fucka stole my pose.......buncha clowns.

VOTED BEST OF BALTIMORE FILMMAKERS 2003 PEOPLE! and no, I'm not fucking kidding, but let this former founding Sike Triker say it all, from Rjyan Kidwell

"Last night I went to a screening of new movies by Sike Trike, the video collective that used to be my darling baby here in Baltimore, back before my self-imposed exile from Baltimore. Back in the "golden years," we used to get together every Monday to make a movie. Sometimes we were doing more than one a week, and quite a few classic pieces of cinema came out of it. It was always just a hobby for everyone involved, but a hobby that seemed to have huge potential were we to really hustle with it and try and take it nationwide. We had couple good screenings around town, and talked a lot about booking a screening tour, making a DVD, entering every film festival, stuff like that. Eventually, I made my quiet exit, and time passed and there was some fracturing of the group, and I think things slowed down for a bit. But for some reason the City Paper named Sike Trike "Best Video Collective" in this year's Best Of Baltimore issue, and I think that jumpstarted the motivation for some of the folks still hanging on to the dream, and so there's been a bunch of new movies made and an article in the Baltimore Sun and then the screening last night. I felt real weird watching the new generation of movies Sike Trike is making. Almost no Dave Lynch, a lot less John Waters, and a heaping helping of whichever Zucker brother. The one responsible for BASEKETBALL and SCARY MOVIE 3 is who I'm thinking of. That's what the new stuff made me think of. So last night I sat in a bar and I watched about an hour of footage of a door shutting in slow-motion. Fuck, I don't want to talk about it anymore-- I don't want to sound like some sulking fox."

Well, whatever the fucking reason it was people, it just says that we've got alot of work to do and ground to cover to support the local filmmakers that are REALLY DOING IT out here and get them shown. I felt bad winning almost, but I swept the competition.....there was a few good pieces, but alot of the shit was terrible. I liken my whole feeling of the night to a feeling like I was intentionally pegging a quadriplegic in the head in a game of dodge ball or something.

But shit, BHP won alot shit and got trophies to rock. word........Lots of work to be done, and this shit is just the jump-off as they would say. Watch out.

Check the site, some of it is up at least........tell me what you think so far......

click here for sensual ectasy!

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!