Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Go to the Book Thing.......
2004-11-29 - 3:14 p.m.

Listening to: Abdoulaye Diabate "Djoro"

I think I'm going to attempt to do the scheduled "High Mileage" maintenance on my truck, as much as I can do feasibily and save some money.......or destroy my truck, whichever.......although with a detailed manual in my hand, I think I could pull it off. Why not? I was a bit of a greasemonkey the other day, helping "E-man" Everett, that stoic mu'fucka fixing up his Saab with an Axle replacement and it got me thinking......this shit is basically easy.......why not try it on my own? He showed me how to change oil too, and i'm like, that shit is easy too.......damn, what a fucking racket this oil change shit is. I can understand to go into a shop for computer shit, or heavy duty engine/tranny work, but as far as changing a belt, spark plugs, fluids, shit, I can do all that and save the 50 dollars an hour I'd have to spend with a mechnanic and feel like a manly man doing it.......yeah, raise up the man cred.......and save some serious dough.

.......So seriously, wish me luck, or I'll have a truck on blocks maybe soon like a dumbass hillbilly, I'm gonna read all the manuals though.

Yesterday, I went to the THE BOOK THING in Bmore, and if you live in this area and you haven't been to the BOOK THING, you must go and check the site for directions and such. They're in desparate need of a new location and if you can help them find a new place or raise money to find a new place or just volunteer or donate stuff on their donation list, that'd be great for them, and you can get all the free books you want from them. FREE BOOKS! That's right, there's no catch other then getting the books and having them stamped as FREE BOOKS NOT FOR RESALE. The place is truly amazing, yes, it's a sorta dank basement filled to the brim with books, from floor to ceiling, and it's like digging for treasure in there, it really is. I got a Jiddu Krishnamurdi book and two Norman Mailer's and some weird ass books one on sleep that was autographed and the other on the new perception of the universe with some crazy ass cover. People were walking out with BOXES of books. They want you to be greedy there. It's fucking lovely I tell you. Books of all kinds, all sorts, like a library blew the fuck up and the books all landed in this catergoried randomness. They at least got it down to stuff, like HISTORY, HOBBIES, CLASSICS, SOCIOLOGY, etc. and the fiction section is massive full of authors long forgotten or maybe not, it's like the internet in ancient form, just books upon books of information, bullshit, revelation, how-tos, all at your fingertips. Be your own Search engine.


previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!