Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Friendster and IDM
2003-06-19 - 9:15 a.m.

Alright. I joined Friendster and I have mixed feelings. Regardless, I'm searching the database of 201023912093102 friends I have through 7 Friends.

Casperwoo had a clever take on it. I know most these people don't have 51 friends.

"Friend" is a loose definition I guess.

It's a wonderful conglamoration of nerds, pervs, and hipsters all rolled into one. I feel sorry for the women on it the more I think about it, especially the ones that put DATING up there. You put a mildly freaky/sexy/or just plain pic of yourself in your photos and you probably get 1023098210381 messages from guys named "Thad" or "Dos" talkin' bout how they want to get with you. That's a bit more overwhelming then real life, maybe. I guess when I think about it more, I feel more sorry for these guys that think they can get these grrls. Anyways, I find Friendster so far, makes me more apprehensive about meeting people then finding it easier. You expect what the profiles say, profiles are embellished, profiles are still just a small fraction of info anyways, and there's freaks everywhere that all think, myself included that we don't fit into any catergory of anything and by some magic stroke of luck, we are insanely unique and hip. I find Friendster intimidating at times. All and all I'm mixed about it.

Anyways, what the hell is IDM or "Intelligent Dance Music?" I read this somewhere and it's not the first time I heard it, but it irked me. Intelligent Dance Music. I can't take that seriously for a couple of reasons. Judging music solely on it's IQ or sophistication is such a narrow lens to see through when it comes to music. I'm figuring a number of people that like to say they listen to IDM really have little or no concept of advanced musical theory. And to classify whether or not you want to dance to music solely on it's sophistication is retarded. When did dancing become intellectual? Being one that is picky and choosy about music, I can understand one's disapproval of your DJ's selection, but to say, "Nah, I'm chillin' up against this wall here, this music ain't smart enough for me." Sounds silly. Maybe I'm taking this all the wrong way, because I sorta know where they are coming from, maybe the choice of words irks me BUT there's something to laugh at or with among those that are IDM'ers.

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!