Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

The Lowdown, the long and short of it....
2002-03-04 - 3:20 p.m.

Well, damn, I didn't realize how dependent I was to the computer screen and all the delights on the vast World Wide Web. My internet shut down at school, just mine........no one elses. Apparently, the IP address changes automatically in the network for your computer every so often or something to that extent and mine expired and it wasn't changed. It sucked alot, I got frustrated, my roommate was online, people on other floors were, and then I found out I wasn't alone with this problem, I was alone with this addiction withdrawl however in my opinion. Well, I soon straighten out and beat the "Shakes" and I realized "Hey! There's books near my bedside!"

What's this? THE PROPHET by Kilhal Gibran.............hmmmm let me open this and see if there's candy or something inside. I couldn't pull it down, a fire burned within me, I needed to read it all right then and there. Needless to say, this book is probably now one of my top 5 in the ever so small list of books I have read in my lifetime and to think I was one of the top "Accelerated Readers" at Meadows Elementary School. I got to go to a pizza party and stuff and meet Fox's RAPPIN REGGIE who was my idol when I watched afternoon cartoons on the Waco Affiliate FOX station and he would say cool stuff and tell me not to do drugs during various commercial breaks. I wish ballpits and skeeball gave me that much incentive now, only on occasion, especially when it's for that Cookie Monster Cookie Jar, me, my brother, and a couple of other friends spent near 20 bucks on skeeball for that thing.

Anyways, I was driven and eventhough the book was a bit short, it was a huge accomplishment for me, the one that can't even get through a chapter of any of my college textbooks without passing out, drooling on the neglected text. It dragged alot out of me. My roommate was surprised as hell at this. He was amazed I was reading, something, anything, even after Arylon and I throughly dogged him about his fine sister. His parents and assorted family came up to see him this Sunday. She was a fine Ethopian woman, stacked front and back, maybe 5'6....just a knock-out with curly hair. I was like "DAYUM" she was fine and she was talking all to me and looking through my records and talking about Tibet because me and the fellas just came back from seeing a great performance by the Drepung Luseng monks. She even commented on my pimp satin-like sheets. I was like "Nick, she was throwing me the vibe, dawg." "I wanna make you an Uncle." "Don't you want a lil DJ? A Mike Jr.?" Needless to say, Arylon and I throughly dogged him because he said "AWWHHH DAWG...." way more then he normally does. Anyways, he was amazed even after the fact we "complimented" him on having such a fine blood line.

The reading gave me perspective. I used it to reflect in all the stuff that's gone on over my recent history. Things were making sense, I was no longer the one looking out of myself, I was looking in. I saw me, I saw why things are the way they are. I saw Raven, I saw me. I saw what we have and what we experienced. Even now, I moved to my next book, THE SUBTERRANEANS by Kerouac and I see me and her and my life in there, a new perspective, a twist....I relate, I discover. Damn who knew books had this in them?

Anywho, I've got the writing bug now and I wrote this not too long ago and I'll leave you with it.

***

Time

Time is what weathers grown mountains into valleys..........

Time is what passes in cells and alleys.............

Time swallows souls.........

It goes where you try to hide.

Time follows all cradle to grave and probably even beyond.

Time has shown me and transformed me into an enlightened one but has left me bitter. Time makes me realize things are precious, because in time you learn, in time, you develop, in time you are what you make within time. Time is a boundary that we spend our existence in. What is timeless does not exist in a form and is discovered only in time. That meaning we yearn for, found only in a span of time. People die, people waste, people look for, people make...........Time.

Time is what weathers grown mountains into valleys.........

Time is what passes in cells and alleys................

Time swallows souls..............

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!