Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Saturday Wrap Up
2003-06-09 - 2:00 p.m.

Alright, update time.

Let's go.

Last Saturday was interesting and at first seemed fairly unexciting. The rain was intense that day. I bought Nick beer for our friend Kristen's House Warming/BBQ. Her house is a kingdom of faux finishes. She has Cork Brick walls, a fake fireplace, wood paneling, and some wild wallpaper. Her place is definitely dope, too bad it had to rain like a bastard all day.

The party started off slow and then it blossomed into a social super mingle-fest. It was nice, Nick and I were the youngest people there. Most the partiers were around the mid 20s and made me feel like a lil juvenile. Everyone was a writer/artist/intellectual, all cool jobs, all saavy and not quite uber-hip, but carried their own, uniquely and geniunely.

I felt worse for Nick, he was basically the only meat eater at the BBQ and he got segregated to a tiny grill. He started off the party drinking about 3 beers in about 10 minutes on a near empty stomach, drinking his heineken and all these hoppy micro brews, and even some malt liquor from Thailand. He was the most obviously trashed of the folks, one of the grrls was noticibly tipsy, but not as much as Nick.

Nick puked all the steak, noodle salad, chips, and beer out on the front lawn. He's only puked twice from drinking, EVER. It was surreal and to see the look on his face, was.....well, priceless. Everyone lost their appetite for grilling shortly thereafter. Nick pegged himself as the underage kid at the party in rebellious excess. He was definitely close to passing out mode. He took it pretty well though, he's not a crazy drunk, but what he did near the exit of the BBQ was.

A guy in a Buick, cruising around the neighborhood stops in front of the house while Nick, this other guy, and I were out front and flagged us for our attention. "Hey, do any of you got change for 10 dollars for exchange for 5 two dollar bills?" "The people at the gas station didn't think they were real, but they are." I didn't have change and the other guy smelled foul, but drunk Nick reaches into his pocket and counts 9 dollars. "I only got 9 bucks." "That's fine." So Nick walks over and gives him nine for 5 two dollar bills. "They're from 1963. I couldn't believe they didn't think they were real."

"2 dollar bills don't have red seals on them."

"You got had dude."

Nick was like, "Man, I can spend these, watch me." Word soon got out that Nick got conned throughout the party goers. Nick wasn't that mad and probably too drunk to be flaming angry. Anyways, not more then a half an hour later the guy drives around again and we flag him down and say, HEY MAN! YOU DUPED OUR FRIEND! GIVE HIM BACK HIS TEN BUCKS! Nick was pissed and the guy who I was talking to were too and giving that guy the tenth degree along with Kristen. I didn't want to get into it. Apparently, the guy pulls up his sleeve and he's got track marks all over, turns out he's a junkie con man. He goes, "I'm not an honest man, but this is REAL money." And apparently he had a whole load of it in his car and wallet.

Kristen, Nick, and the guy were overwhelmed with pity and shock and awe and just let him drive away. Speechless.

Nick and I went to the Summer Solstice at the Cork Factory after that. Kevin couldn't make it, Paul couldn't make it, Brother John barely made it. I was pissed when I first got there. I felt so hillbilly up in there with all these art people and our shit up on the wall but Nick and I had a blast watching people look intensely at the wall of art, which was affectionally called, NICK MILLER PRESENTS 100LBS OF ART. Nick got into the show buy passing 3 two dollar bills for the admission and used another two dollar bill for a water. Nick was able to use them after all. A cute lil curvy number, (Who unfortunately did not want to be photographed with me, witness protection)bought my "Hiding Place" photo. and I coaxed her into buying my other photo of my friend Kevin hugging a 43000 lbs bomb. All for 25 smackeroos. She said her man makes beer and that she'd drop off some beer to us at the Creative Alliance as an added bonus. The night was a bit sweeter after that, eventhough the party wasn't quite my scene. I had more fun talking outside to the security guy for the event. He was cool as all hell, talking about some drunk sista showing her tits outside on her stoop down the street.

Chillin' on a stoop is the absolute coolest summer thing to do and Bmore is filled with them.

I got pictures of the show posted on my fotolog site if you choose to look deeper, there's nothing much more to say about it really............Well, except for THIS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anyways, The fat kid concept band is pending approval on Mp3.com.

Nick and I were talking about Bmore and how much we love the city and I think I summed it up best as this...

"When you walk down the street, you feel like you are ten times better then everyone else on the street." -'cause 9 times outta 10, that's the fucking truth.

No city got that kinda flava.

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!