Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

"Darknesses!!!!!!!!"
2004-02-20 - 5:10 p.m.

Alright. Last night, I was called a "Nigga" in conversation by a fellow young black female employee. At first, it didn't phase me much, you know I must of thought it was a slip of habit or something, but as I thought of it more after the conversation, I wondered, "DO I HAVE NIGGERISH TENDENCIES?"

I think the strongest inclination in why chose to address me as one is probably because I took, what she said 5 minutes extra on my break. The only reason she knew was because she was using the clock on my phone, which she was borrowing to make phone calls at work......I got some Voicemail marked "Urgent" and shit on my phone in the morning too from whomever she called. Mad niggerish.

I then thought the rest of the night about why I wasn't really that surprised when she called me a "Nigga." I started to measure characteristics.....

-I wear a baseball cap, but the brim isn't bent. *Back in the day, I did wear a Chicago Bulls 3peat hat with tags and holograms still in it.

-I love hip-hop, but I also listen to bluegrass.

-I'm no Michael Rappaport, but I can speak in conversational Ebonics.

-I don't eat chicken, but I love hot sauce, seasoned salt, and don't really like mayonaise.

-I don't wear 200 dollar sneakers, but I like a good sneaker and appreciate the finding of a good one and a good style. *I just bought a pair of shoes from Wal-Mart with Velcro, which are mad comfy for 10 dollars. Old peaple and 'tards got it goin' on!

-My credit is good, but that doesn't explain why my cell phone gets disconnected for not paying my bill.

-I find myself speaking "proper" to parents, older people, and confused white folks, but I've used "Yo!" "Yaknowhatimsayin?!?" and "No doubt." about 12903802198309182 times over a course of a year.

-I like a fine micro-brewed beer every once awhile, but I have a daily thrist for Colt 45 and 40oz beverages.

-I really can't play basketball now, but I sure played a hell of alot of it in my childhood.

-I never had a fat, white girlfriend....

(*note, what is up with that? Is it like a bonus of reparations, like a fat white girl equals 2 or 3 or something?)

**Most my best friends growing up were black.

**I like extra extra sugar in my Kool Aid.

**I used to show up 5 minutes late routinely at my old job.

**I like a fine, old Cadillac.

**I occasionally enjoy a "ghetto mint"

-I didn't think OJ was innocent.

**I'd go looting if circumstances permitted.

-I tip generously.......

**I like to eat sunflower seeds on a consistant basis during the summer months.

**I enjoy a good melon.

-I've never pawned anything or put stuff on lawaway, or paid with post-dated checks.

**I was disgusted when I saw James Earl Jones computer effects aided "Shuckin' and Jivin'" for that Verizon Wireless commercial.

**I think "Friends" is the whitest show in the universe.

-I like "Seinfeld" and "Curb Your Enthusiasm"

**I wondered why Cornel West made an appearance in the Matrix and why in the hell did he try to do a album?

**I'll vote for Rev. Al.

**Bell Hooks is intellectual goddess.

-FreakNik scares me.

-I don't rent videos at Blockbuster with the words "BALLA, HUSTLA, PIMPIN, or GANGSTA" in it or if it has any of the members of Bone Thugs starring in it.

Yeah, so I guess I do have a bit of a tendency......but far from full-fledge.....Culture is adaptable, look at Bryant Gumbel or Colin Powell? Danny Hoch? Michael Rappaport?

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!