Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Ole Misering ass Mike..........
2005-02-03 - 12:49 a.m.

So I fancifully disgusted myself by doing nothing today. I was gonna go to the bank today, but my sudden and severe allergy to pants kicked in with a quick vengeance. I got smart though and I went back to Internet banking. I'm tired of getting up like a sucka. So yeah, I reinstated that account that's been really idle that I couldn't remember even the password to and paid off my monstrosity Credit Card bill.

$1,464.37 -was the magical number. That floored me alot and I'm not one to let this debt marinate in it's interest juices. I was surprised to be able to pay the shit off, but yeah, that's a fucking dent. Now, I'm not a shop-till-you-drop man-thing, as many would like to believe. Frankly, I couldn't care less about the finer things in life right now. Everything feels like a luxury, breathing even feels like a luxury. Shit, last night, was the first time I drank beer in how long? Shocked me. I don't even want to drink that much anymore. Now saying this DOES hurt my heart a little, but seriously, if it isn't some sort of exotic beer of the world or some shit, I've drank and got drunk off of it basically, so what else do I spend money on a normal basis like jovial shit like alcohol? Last year, beer was like a weekly expense almost like gas or some shit and I'd burn gas to consume or purchase the shit. Now, my credit card bill was a combination of hefty cell phone bills and a crazy PA system for DJing. I bought a dinner or lunch here and there, but that was the bulk of the "meat."

Last month was also a pretty hard-hit-to-the-wallet month too. With Christmas and all, a Super8 camera, a plane ticket, more phone bills, and alcohol. I've spend alot of damn money in the last two months. Now, this month, finally being back at 0 again comfortably, I don't think I'm spending much anytime soon. I canceled my cell phone service, I lost my phone post-hondance when packing all the new PA system away somewhere......it wasn't in the theater, and it definitely wasn't in the parking lot where I suspected dropping it on accident from my "Shallow-pockets-to-prevent-incidental-masturbation-jeans." I got initially worried, but nothing like someone would figure I would be. I would always say shit like, "Ain't nobody ever callin' me" and people always called me when I didn't want no phone calls. Plus, I never liked sprint anyways. Customer service sucks and I've endured the shackles of the user-agreement and it was time to quit and I initially intended to quickly switch to another service.

Then I thought about the event of switching phones and providers, the searching of numbers, the re-evaluating your old phone list in your head to decide which people you want to erase from your life completely if you haven't already unintentionally or otherwise. Scary. So today, as I said, I did nothing, meaning I searched long and wide on the internet for the "Best phones and best providers." As much as many cell providers would like to be think they're offering you drastically different services, frankly, I don't see alot of differences, maybe 50 minutes here and there, some coverage areas are larger, but seriously, when am I gonna be in Las Cruces, New Mexico or Thurber, Texas going, "FUCK I SHOULD OF CHOSE __________!!!!" anytime soon? They all fuck you the same way, and another thing, THEY ALL HAVE UGLY PHONES!!!!!

Come on people, who the fuck designs these things? Some of this shit just looks like ugly vibrators with key pads on them. Some could just use paint jobs or some shit and just because you put the 1 and 3 button on the same button in a "Rocker" button style doesn't mean the shit is "Radical styling." It's a challenge though, you must admit, how the fuck do you jazz up a phone? It's like trying to jazz up toilet paper by putting "aloe racing stripes" in the middle, no one seems to fucking care, it's such a mundane, everyday object for the "mobile professional" but where's the colors? (And yes, radically styled toilet paper is an essential to the "mobile professional.") Where's the flamboyance and rhinestone keypad buttons? Give me something more then a flashy antenna and flame decals on my battery or god forbid, a NASCAR NUMBER.

I want to see hi-tech gadgetry old school style. I want to see wires and big bulky buttons n'shit. Give me them old "car battery" sized mobiles. I'm thinking about rocking a pager like a drug dealer so I can bum cell phones off of people, but that shit costs some money too. I figured them simple ass pagers would be god damned free by now. The only phone I sorta liked is:

Motorola's A630

It's ugly and not ashamed of being ugly. Obviously, it's geeky, it's got a keyboard in it and a camera in it to say, yeah, this is TECHNOLOGY!!!!!!!!*busts into a Kraftwerk song* TRANS-EUROPE EXPRESS!!!!!!!! It opens and shuts like a George Foreman grill and looks like an innocent case for your fake designer sunglasses, but it's oh so much more. It fits my personality to a T with such customer reviews as:

"(this might be my bad luck only) I had to return 3 phones to Amazon because of different reasons ranging from a corrupt system that kept on turning on and off .. blue screen.. and finaly the battery that is not keeping a charge. I believe I am on my 4th trial phone right now, and I think it will be going back too, since after doing the three full charges (fully charge - wait untill it is completely empty - start over) the battery is still not holding a charge for longer than 1 (maximum 1 1/2 days ) on stand-by !!!! I think this is my luck only since I have not seen others that say bad things about the battery of this phone."

"Amazon shipped me a defective phone, which T-Mobile will
replace (free of charge). I'm not too happy with that,
first of all because T-Mobile will not guarantee that the
replacement is brand-new (it could be refurbished),
secondly, why did I get a defective phone to begin with --
where's the quality control?

Playing around with the phone (it is partially functional),
there's a bit of a "production prototype" feel to it, for
example the external keyboard moves around the case, like
a millimiter or so in any direction you push it; the internal
keyboard is rather loud and creaky, it does not have anywhere
near the "quality feel" as my old Blackberry.

HOWEVER, I still have to give this phone 4 stars, because
you cannot find anything like it in the market, for the
features, weight, price, and size combination. It truly
has no competition right now, so Motorola can get away with
stuff they would not be able to if Nokia had a similar phone
out on the market.
"

Yeah, I'm defective on delivery, I do get glitchy, my battery life is so-so at times, I don't ever go around thinking I have a "Quality feel" and if i go into stand-by I usually go to sleep.

So, I'm debating whether it'd be worth it or not to go back to a cell phone. If any of you out there in Diaryland that actually made it this far in the entry want to give me their opinions.....please, by all means. I do need to call Canada, I need to call Canada alot. Take that into consideration. I'm torn, no cell phone service would take a dent out my now-miser-ing ass but just like the American dream, I basically want "Something for Nothing." or next to nothing but still have the luxury of calling Canada. I might need a cell phone.....it's tragic really, and all these fucking international rate things are confusing as all hell, does anyone know Verizon Wireless' capabilities and charges for calls to Canada on their network? Fucking cell phones, shit makes me sick really, but I need it just for one person really because I'm tragically unpopular, yes, but everyone else can IM me or email me or something, no one really ever called me.......I guess I was a medium cell phone user, but shit, most that shit was because I was calling folks and not them ever calling me.

Fucking decisions. I've let it eat my soul all day, please forgive me.

Nokia7280.......sexy.......too sexy for me........damn....I'm not as sexy as this phone!

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!