Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

"I don't want to 'hang out' anymore"
2004-07-22 - 4:02 p.m.

I'm tired of "hangin' out." I'm tired of saying the same old stories, doing the same old gags, and doing shit that's essentially worthless in my mind. I hate clubs. When I think the word "Nightclub" the only thing that comes into mind is "Place where 100 people get dressed up to be uncomfortable TOGETHER." All in the pursuit of being hip, which I can understand, it is such a swift, undeniable, force that drives through your soul, down to the fat meat even, and tells you, "Hey man, 500 dollar leather pants aren't so bad."

Usually, when you go to the club, you run into the weekend warrior hipsters, the part-time hip, and the "I-just-got-this-witty-T-shirt-at-Urban-Outfitters!!!" hip. And this is all cool, but most tend to not recognize that in their pursuit of looking their best for said show/club/venue/event, that they've entered themselves into a no-holds-barred, lumberjack-style Royal-Rumble fashion battle. To me, this is where the real show is at. You got the faux-gangstas standing in place, you got the pretty boys with the benjamins at the bar buying shots of liquers, you got the hair-smellers (another word brought to you by "BAT" technology), and who could forget the backpackers annoying your ass with flyers and bouncing up and down to the music with their hand placed retardedly close to their mouths, as if they burned their hand on the stove, when the emcee says something "dope." You also got the Black Bohos in there in the mix, you got the people that semi-memorized the lyrics to the song, reciting their favorite lines haphazardly throughout the night, and the nerd kids that buy 50 dollars worth of shit at the merch booth before the show even starts and proceed to try not to make asses of themselves the rest of the night-so resisting the urge to break out in that air guitar solo or scratch-mimic-ing hand gesture which is so popular nowadays.

Now, yes I'm a hater in the swan song of my life, but I only speak upon them because I was everyone of these people at one point or another. It's a phase and some people never get out of it and increasingly the dizzying array of "Shit" to get lost in doubles every week, so naturally it seems as if it is an unavoidable time-waster that you have to accept on some sort of level to stay sane.

I'm increasingly insane though......hence the anger and frustration of "Hangin' out."

The show was good though, Everett's girl, Kristen, organized the event and I was really impressed with two groups in particular, "Time Machine" and "The Procussions" both solid hip-hop acts, one of the guys of Time Machine reminds me of early Pharcyde while The Procussions have an awesome stage presence and both gave a feelgood danceable vibe to their music-which is in short supply in today's Hip-Hop independents and mainstream-too bad the club was too cramped to even get elbow room to dance though (I heard one angry drinking white boy that he was about to "Throw some 'bos in this joint!" and Bat and I saw personally on more then one occasion, girls ACTUALLY smelling their hair in the club). Many congratulations to Kristen for organizing such an entertaining show.

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!