Latest

Archives

Notes

Guestbook

Email

Diaryland

Rings

Hot Button Action!

Fotolog

About Me

Just a typical night of work..........
2004-11-23 - 9:56 a.m.

So Last night.......I didn't get any "work" done but I did get alot of work done.

-I told this kid how to get to Joe's Record Paradise.

-I gave my Supervisor a grammar lesson and explained to him the purpose of outlines and how they were made. He's Mexican and he comes to me every so often and asks me to explain some words or proof read for him. He's quite good considering......he needs to work more on his grammar, especially with tenses and usage, but he and I get along splendidly. I helped him for about an hour and we burned another hour talking about everything from the plant, the people in the plant, life, race, religion, welfare, and how he used to spend hours folding his clothes just right. It was one of those conversations that you don't get too often and never really fight for, but really hope for.

-I talked with the downtrodden self proclaimed AA Junkie "Dry Drunk" Danny about his alcoholism. Every other time I see him, he's either joking around (badly most of the time) or he's telling me about his bad choices. He's told me before that I was "One of the most intelligent people (he's) ever met." He's told me a great deal about his son and his weekly hep shots, his diabetes, his ex-wife, and his former job at the dairy. I've given him a couple of rides home on occasion and even offered his to help him with his son who had an interest in music production and video production. He sorta looks like a cross between a shortened fat dwarf morph of Steven Tyler and Abe Vigoda.

He talked last night about how he would of felt uncomfortable going to the Company Christmas Party without drinking. Everything goes back to his bad choices.......He knows I think alcoholism isn't a disease. It's a choice I tell him and I tell him, drinking is just drinking, and that he needs to look at WHY he drinks and WHY does he feel uncomfortable in general. He sorta nodded with me when I told him that he alone can be his only savior in so many words and to forget about what's past, what's hoped for, and to live today as you and you alone.......not with drugs, vices, or habits. But he is a stubborn man, he'd take my words to heart only to regret them later to tell me about it.

I remember one occasion he got into a work related accident and fell off a ladder. He fell pretty damn hard on the steel platform he was standing above and cracked some ribs. Of course, he didn't tell anybody about how much the injury hurt him. I kept insisting that he at least put ice on it and he even refused that. As with every accident at work, the supervisor and safety committee along with the big plant manager and the HR Manager and must be notified of the accident for a thorough investigation, no matter what the severity no matter if the accident happened at 2am or what. I remember in that meeting, I remember seeing Danny so nervous and scared talking to the Plant Manager, so gravely scared......and I remember I thought, "What is he so scared of? He was the victim of an accident?" and I also thought about how he was more then twice my age, sitting in the room lying about the severity of his injury, scared for his life, his small chunk of livelihood that he had salvaged out of a life he has deemed purposely to be destructive and wrong before he even reaches for the bottle, before he even wakes up in a new day.

I didn't get much done at work last night, but I got alot done.......

previous - next


a studio-loo design

Get reviewed by DiaryReviews!